Sunday, 27 June 2021 16:36

Women from many parishes honored

06 27 2021 WOD Mass Ann Hines accepts award 6692They are faith-filled Catholics. They are prayer warriors. They are warm and welcoming disciples. They are dedicated to building up the Kingdom of God. On June 5, nearly 100 women from parishes across the Diocese of Springfield in Illinois were honored for their outstanding service to their family, parish, and community. Each parish in our diocese has been invited each year for the past 10 years to choose one woman to represent all the outstanding women in their parish.

The Mass and the Our Lady of Good Counsel Women of Distinction Award Celebration was held at the Cathedral of Immaculate Conception in Springfield. This event was hosted by the Diocesan Council of Catholic Women. Several priests, deacons, family, and friends of the honorees were in attendance. Bishop Thomas John Paprocki was the principal celebrant of the Mass and presenter of the Women of Distinction Awards.

The celebration also honored several high schoolers with scholarships from the Diocesan Council of Catholic Women. Those include the 2020 winners: Kate Jeffers (St. Isidore Parish, Bethany), Sarah Foster (Christ the King Parish, Springfield), Abby Crow (Sacred Heart Parish, Franklin), and Ashley Knackstredt (St. Gertrude Parish, Grantfork). The 2021 winners were: Isabelle Daiber (Mother of Dolors Parish, Vandalia), Lauren Elizabeth Blair (Cathedral Parish, Springfield), Grace Elizabeth Mackey (St. Joseph the Worker Parish, Chatham), and Catherine Kennedy (St. John Vianney Parish, Sherman).

To view the Women of Distinction Mass and Awards Celebration access go to

Our Lady of Good Counsel 2020 and 2021 Women of Distinction:

Marie Grey, 2021, Holy Family, Granite City
Lorraine Travers, 2020, Mother of Perpetual Help, Maryville
Rosemary Dorsey, 2021, Our Lady Queen of Peace, Bethalto
Teresa Lyons, 2020, Ss. Peter and Paul, Alton
Diane Hill, 2021, Ss. Peter and Paul, Collinsville
Kim Wackerly, 2021, St. Ambrose, Godfrey
Marcia Wheeler, 2021, St. Michael (St. Ambrose, Godfrey), Beltrees
Robin Hake, 2020, St. Boniface, Edwardsville
Susan Papajcik, 2021, St. Boniface, Edwardsville
Marlyn “Marty” Micheletto, 2020, St. Cecilia, Glen Carbon
Linda Andruska, 2020, St. Elizabeth, Marine
Agnes Stanley, 2021, St. Elizabeth, Marine
Brenda Neumann, 2020, St. Jerome, Troy
Mindy Cochran, 2021, St. Mary (Immaculate Conception), Alton
Margaret Raich, 2021, Holy Angels, Wood River
Karen Costello, 2020, Holy Family, Granite City
Amy Frisch, 2020, Our Lady Queen of Peace, Bethalto
Louise Snyder, 2021, St. Jerome, Troy
Mary Lou Goggin, 2020, St. Lawrence, Greenville
Mary Jo Keenan, 2020, St. Mary (Immaculate Conception), Alton
Janet Werner, 2020, St. Mary and St. Mark, Madison
Mary Ann George, 2021, St. Mary and St. Mark, Madison
Barbara, Frahm, 2021, Forty Martyrs, Tuscola
Jacqueline Goetter, 2020, Holy Family, Decatur
Kathy Litz, 2021, Holy Family, Decatur
Becky Miller, 2020, Our Lady of the Holy Spirit, Mt. Zion
Kathy Brown, 2021, Our Lady of the Holy Spirit, Mt. Zion
Sharon Wilhelm, 2021, Sacred Heart, Villa Grove
Karen Redden, 2021, Ss. James and Patrick, Decatur
Ann Robison, 2020, St. Aloysius, North Arm
Nancy Hogan, 2021, St. Aloysius, North Arm
Kay McDade, 2021, St. John the Baptist, Arcola
Bonnie Stephens, 2020, St. Mary, Paris
Ruth Anne Smith, 2021, St. Michael, Hume
Julie Gross, 2021, St. Mary, Paris
Eloise Kennedy, 2020, Forty Martyrs, Tuscola
Norma Brust, 2020, St. Isidore, Bethany
Rita Wiessing, 2020, St. John the Baptist, Arcola
Kay Conder, 2020, Annunciation, Shumway
Sally Wakefield, 2021, Annunciation, Shumway
Carla Will, 2020, Immaculate Conception, Mattoon
Judy Colburn, 2020, Sacred Heart, Effingham
Elaine Vonderheide, 2021, Sacred Heart, Effingham
Rita Devore, 2020, St. Anthony of Padua, Effingham
Ann Will, 2021, Sacred Heart, Lillyville
Penny Clay, 2021, St. Charles Borromeo, Charleston
Patti Buercklin, 2021, St. Elizabeth of Hungary, Robinson
Elizabeth (Betty) Goeckner, 2020, St. Isidore the Farmer, Dieterich
Deb Niemerg, 2021, St. Isidore the Farmer, Dieterich
Val Probst, 2021, St. Michael the Archangel, Sigel
Anita Kocher, 2021, Our Lady of Lourdes, Oblong
Sister Christina Frick, SSND, 2020,
St. Francis of Assisi, Teutopolis
Holly Kinkelaar, 2020, St. Mary Help of Christians, Green Creek
Paula Lustig, 2021, St. Mary Help of Christians, Green Creek
Barbara Key, 2020, St. Rose of Lima, Montrose
 Delores Fuhler, 2020, Blessed Trinity, Brussels
Gloria Snyders, 2021, Blessed Trinity, Brussels
Patricia Nevins, 2021, Church of Our Saviour, Jacksonville

Joan, Steckel, 2020, Holy Ghost, Jerseyville
Carolyn Meisner, 2021, Holy Ghost, Jerseyville
Esther Foiles, 2020, St. Francis Xavier, Jerseyville
Susan Smith, 2021, St. Francis Xavier, Jerseyville
Mary Beth Tatum, 2020, St. Mark, Winchester
Laurel Pfeiffer, 2021, St. Mark, Winchester
Mary Goetten, 2020, St. Mary, Fieldon
Elizabeth (Liz) Duggan, 2021, St. Mary, Fieldon
Jean Ann Fitzpatrick, 2020, St. Sebastian, Waverly
Pam Blackorby, 2020, Sacred Heart, Franklin
Laura Hughes, 2021, St. Mary, Pittsfield
Connie McAdams, 2020 , St. Mary, Pittsfield
Rosemary Hughes, 2020, Holy Family, Litchfield
Margaret Harmon, 2021, Holy Family, Litchfield
Eleanor Morelock, 2020, Sacred Heart, Virden
Rosella Adams, 2021, Sacred Heart, Virden
Rosalie Sandretto, 2020, Ss. Simon and Jude, Gillespie
Beverly Marasti, 2021, Ss. Simon and Jude, Gillespie
Mary Jo Cerny, 2020, St. Agnes, Hillsboro
Mary Reynolds, 2021, St. Agnes, Hillsboro
Cindy Saracco, 2020, St. Joseph, Benld
Dorothy Stierwalt, 2021, St. Joseph, Benld
Nancy Meyer, 2020, St. Louis, Nokomis
Dorothy Archibald, 2021, St. Louis, Nokomis
Lorraine Hart, 2021, St. Patrick, Girard
Linda Best, 2020, St. Michael the Archangel, Staunton
Pat Wieseman, 2021, St. Michael the Archangel, Staunton
Marilyn Dragovich, 2020, St. John Paul II, Mount Olive
Margaret (Peggy) Boston, 2021, St. John Paul II, Mount Olive
Irene Rickman, 2020, St. Mary, Taylorville
Carole Harrison, 2021, St. Mary, Taylorville
Valerie Knight, 2020, Ss. Mary and Joseph, Carlinville
Bonnie Grist, 2021, St. Anthony of Padua, Quincy
Sharon Maas (deceased), 2020, St. Anthony of Padua, Quincy
Phyllis Maxwell, 2021, St. Francis Solanus, Quincy
Betty Smith (deceased), 2021, St. Brigid, Liberty
Donna Voss, 2021, St. Edward, Mendon
Helen Jansen, 2021, St. Joseph, Quincy
Martha Fluckey, 2020, Holy Family, Mt. Sterling
Toni Rolando, 2021, Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, Springfield
Helen Guernsey, 2020, Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, Springfield
Patty Pease, 2020, Resurrection, Illiopolis
Michelle Shafer Bertolino, 2020, St. James, Riverton
Barb Butler, 2020, Christ the King, Springfield
Andrea Raskie, 2021, Christ the King, Springfield
Dee Stern, 2020, Church of the Little Flower, Springfield
Ann Hine, 2021, Church of the Little Flower, Springfield
Karen Williams, 2021, Holy Family, Athens
Sherrie Brown, 2021, Resurrection, Illiopolis
Kara Pecoraro, 2020, Sacred Heart of Mary, New Berlin
Rita Sloan, 2020, St. Francis Cabrini, Springfield
Pam McGhiey, 2021, St. Francis Cabrini, Springfield
Carolyn Adams, 2020, St. John Vianney, Sherman
Penny Cooper, 2020, St. Joseph, Springfield
Eileen Kuchar, 2021, St. Joseph, Springfield
Helen Crusen, 2021, St. Jude, Rochester
Joyce Wright, 2020, Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Alexander
Paulette Doellman, 2020, Holy Family, Athens
Sharron Corbin, 2021, St. John Vianney, Sherman