Friday, 29 July 2022 15:45

Dozens of women honored for building up the Kingdom of God in diocese

Written by

08 07 2022 women of distinction WOD honoree sue green accepts honor

They are selfless, faith faith-filled Catholics who are prayer warriors, disciples of Christ, and dedicated to building up the Kingdom of God. On July 23, dozens of women from parishes across the diocese were honored for their outstanding leadership and service to God, the Church, and their parish at The Our Lady of Good Counsel Women of Distinction Mass and Award Celebration at the Cathedral of Immaculate Conception in Springfield. This event was hosted by the Springfield Diocesan Council of Catholic Women (SDCCW). 

Parishes in our diocese are invited each year to choose one woman to represent all the outstanding women in their parish. Several priests, deacons, family, and friends of the honorees were in attendance. Bishop Thomas John Paprocki was the principal celebrant of the Mass and presenter of the Women of Distinction Awards. 

The celebration also honored several high schoolers with scholarships from the SDCCW. Those include Ava Kessler (Holy Cross Parish in Wendelin), Grace Lynch (Holy Family Parish in Decatur), Jenna Ochs (St. Mary’s Assumption Parish in Sainte Marie), Monica Wendle (St. Mary Parish in Alton). 

Alton Deanery

  • Peggy Butkovich, Holy Angels, Wood River
  • Charlotte Charbonnier, St. Elizabeth, Granite City
  • Patricia L. Klasner, St. Ambrose, Godfrey
  • Linda Leleniewski, Holy Family, Granite City
  • Patricia Mueller, St. Jerome, Troy
  • Kathy Jo Parker, Mother of Perpetual Help, Maryville
  • Brenda Tebbe, Our Lady Queen of Peace, Bethalto
  • Shirley Caperton, St. Elizabeth, Marine
  • Benna Denue, St. Boniface, Edwardsville
  • Patti Kruegel, Ss. Peter and Paul, Alton
  • Delores Bruncic, St. Mary and St. Mark, Madison
  • Shirley Landolt, Sacred Heart, Livingston
  • Shirley Potthast, St. Lawrence, Greenville

Jerseyville Deanery

  • Shelley Becker, St. John Paul II, Mt. Olive
  • Cindy Borklund, Holy Family, Litchfield
  • Janice R. Charnisky, St. Louis, Nokomis
  • Eduvigas “Vicky” Crye, Sacred Heart, Virden
  • Julie Goetten, St. Mary, Fieldon
  • Teresa Goetten, Holy Ghost, Jerseyville
  • Marlene Marten, St. Raymond, Raymond
  • Carolyn Masinelli, St. Michael the Archangel, Staunton
  • Mary Kay Newman, Ss. Simon and Jude, Gillespie
  • Barbara Ryan, St. Agnes, Hillsboro
  • Mary Jane Schmidt, St. Mary, Farmersville
  • Joyce Vaughn, St. Francis Xavier, Jerseyville
  • Denise Linn, St. John the Evangelist, Carrollton
  • Rose Marie Tebbe, St. Joseph, Benld

Mattoon Deanery

  • Barbara Bierman, St. Isidore the Farmer, Dieterich
  • Lori Creek, St. Columcille, Sullivan
  • Sue Green, St. Anthony of Padua, Effingham
  • Jeanne Gross, Immaculate Conception, Mattoon
  • Carole Halloran, St. Aloysius, North Arm
  • Lucille (Lucy) Hewing, Sacred Heart, Effingham
  • Pat Jackson, Mother of Dolors, Vandalia
  • Linda Mertens, St. Thomas the Apostle, Newton
  • Jane Plummer, St. Rose of Lima, Montrose
  • Valerie Probst, St. Michael the Archangel, Sigel
  • Celeste Rogers, Forty Martyrs, Tuscola
  • Mardell Sheehan, Annunciation, Shumway
  • Judith Vaughn, St. Charles Borromeo, Charleston
  • Theresa (Teri) Whalen, Immaculate
  • Conception, Shelbyville
  • Sue Esker, St. Francis of Assisi, Teutopolis
  • Delores Jansen, St. Mary Help of Christians,
  • Green Creek
  • Patricia Kerner, St. John the Baptist, Arcola
  • Debra Kirsch, St. Mary, Paris
  • Kathy Staller, St. Elizabeth, Robinson
  • Carol Zellars, Our Lady of Lourdes, Oblong

Quincy Deanery

  • Tawny Benz, St. Anthony of Padua, Quincy
  • Carolyn Briddle, St. Francis Solanus, Quincy
  • Marjorie Kendrick, St. Edward, Mendon
  • Lorrie Klauser, St. Brigid, Liberty
  • Connie Marie Schrage, St. Peter, Quincy
  • Millie Venvertloh, St. Joseph, Quincy
  • Margaret J. Coon, St. Mark, Winchester
  • Mary Jo Ward, St. Mary, Pittsfield 

Springfield Deanery

  • Nancy Baker, Holy Family, Athens
  • Beverly Dortch-Smith, Cathedral of the
  • Immaculate Conception, Springfield
  • Debra Forbes, St. Maurice, Morrisonville
  • Stacie Henderson, St. John Vianney, Sherman
  • Michelle Marie Knap, Resurrection, Illiopolis
  • Judy Kohlrus, St. Frances Xavier Cabrini, Springfield
  • Barb Leaf, Church of the Little Flower, Springfield
  • Alice Rose Massey, Our Saviour, Jacksonville
  • Jan Mudd, Our Lady of the Holy Spirit, Mt. Zion
  • Lois Ryan, St. Mary, Taylorville
  • Jinny Sachsenmaier, St. Joseph the Worker, Chatham
  • Linda Schmidt, St. Joseph, Springfield
  • Frances Sperry, Ss. James and Patrick, Decatur
  • Linda Younkin, Christ the King, Springfield
  • Mary Lou Walker, Our Lady of Lourdes, Decatur
  • Deena Warrick, Holy Family, Decatur
  • Jeannette Waters, St. Jude, Rochester
  • Rita Guinan, St. Peter, Petersburg