Monday, 13 March 2023 12:36

23 diocesan schools eligible for $10,000 match for scholarship donations

Written by

Eighteen diocesan schools eligible for $10,000 match for scholarship donations
Your donation also gives you 75 percent tax credit

Empower Illinois is excited to share two generous donors are sponsoring a scholarship donation match for eligible Catholic schools in the Diocese of Springfield in Illinois. Gifts made through Empower Illinois for the Invest in Kids Tax Credit Scholarship Program at eligible schools will be doubled up to $10,000.

“Matching gift opportunities inspire greater giving within local communities and help even more students find their best-fit school,” said Anthony Holter, Empower Illinois president. “With five kids remaining on the waitlist for every one scholarship awarded, we look forward to working with our school partners and generous Illinoisans to meet more of this tremendous demand for tax credit scholarships.”

Illinois’ bipartisan Invest in Kids Act Tax Credit Scholarship Program provides need-based scholarships to kids from low-income and working-class families to attend their best-fit school. Program donors earn a 75 percent state tax credit on their gift. For example, if an individual donor contributes $1,000, they will receive a state tax credit of $750. Donors can also direct their donations to a school of their choice. Since 2018, the Invest in Kids Tax Credit Scholarship Program has awarded more than 38,000 scholarships totaling more than $308 million.

Donations must be made before April 15 or when the cap is met at your select school to be eligible for the match. For more information on how to donate visit or call (800) 616-7606. The schools in our diocese eligible for the $10,000 match are: 

  • Blessed Sacrament Catholic School - Quincy
  • Blessed Sacrament School - Springfield
  • Christ the King School - Springfield
  • Father McGivney Catholic High School - Glen Carbon
  • Holy Family School - Decatur
  • Little Flower School - Springfield
  • Our Lady of Lourdes School - Decatur
  • Our Saviour School - Jacksonville
  • Quincy Notre Dame High School - Quincy
  • Sacred Heart-Griffin High School - Springfield
  • St. Agnes School - Springfield
  • St. Aloysius School - Springfield
  • St. Dominic School - Quincy
  • St. Francis Solanus School - Quincy
  • St. Francis/Holy Ghost School - Jerseyville
  • St. Louis Catholic School - Nokomis
  • St. Mary School - Mount Sterling
  • St. Mary School - Taylorville
  • St. Patrick Elem - Decatur
  • St. Patrick Grade School - Springfield
  • St. Peter School - Quincy
  • St. Teresa High School - Decatur
  • St. Thomas - Newton